47 Students Win UHC Scholarships

47 students, representing eight different schools and 43 areas of study (14 students have multiple majors) have been selected as recipients of $2,000 University Honors College (UHC) Scholarships for Academic Year 2014-2015:


Yashar Assi (Bioengineering)

Jessica Bispels (Urban Studies)

Meghan Brandi (Geology)

Simon Brown (History, Philosophy, History & Philosophy of Science)

Pietra Bruni (Psychology, Film Studies)

Matthew Burger (Biological Sciences)

Kathryn Ching (Pharmacy)

Kaitlyn Cirrincione (Emergency Medicine)

Jessica Craig (Non-fiction Writing, Microbiology)

Natalie Daher (Communication, English Writing)

Neil Debski (Mechanical Engineering)

Yadhu Dhital (Natural Science)

Thomas Diehl (Neuroscience)

Julie Dostal (Politics & Philosophy)

Elizabeth Frank (Film Studies, Business)

Kristin Free (Rehabilitation Science, Psychology)

Ketevan Geguchadze (History, Communication)

Cathleen Gillette (Actuarial Mathematics)

Kinley Gillette (Political Science, Philosophy)

Antony Gnalian (Health Information Management)

Sherry Greek (Clinical Diatetrics-Nutrition)

Marko Gudic (Politics & Philosophy, Economics)

Kariah Jeter (Hispanic Languages & Literature)

Grace Kelly (History of Art & Architecture)

Sara Khalbuss (Sociology)

Andrew Krane (Psychology)

Rachel Krofcheck (Spanish, English Literature)

Bradley Lukasak (Chemistry)

Darren Lesher (Social Work)

Rachel Marx (English Writing, Urban Studies)

Connor Medgaus (Film Studies)

Mary Mitkish (Communication Science & Disorders)

Alaa Mohamed (Sociology)

Andrew Morrison (Neuroscience)

Bhavini Patel (Africana Studies, Sociology)

Max Stefan Poost (Architectural Studies, Music)

Sandesh Raj (Bioengineering)

Swati Rajprohat (Neuroscience)

Justin Saver (Pharmacy)

Jourdan Simko (Politics & Philosophy)

Stephen Sloto (Linguistics & Anthropology)

Shelby Underwood (Actuarial Mathematics)

Tyler Walburn (Biological Sciences)

Andrew Wright (Chemical Engineering)

Nina Yacovoni (Environmental Studies)

Victoria Yuhas (French, Linguistics)

Sheridan Zivanovich (Computer Science).


These excellent students submitted strong application materials and met the following eligibility criteria:

  • Junior, senior or fifth-year students who have completed at least two full semesters at Pitt’s Oakland campus.
  • Achievement of at least an overall 3.5 GPA at Pitt.
  • No previous record of receiving merit scholarship support from Pitt’s Office of Admissions and Financial Aid.
  • Evidence of UHC participation and involvement.

Established in 2014, the UHC scholarship program aims to support high achieving students whose excellent work was not predicted by high school performance, to transfer students, and to students who applied too late to be considered for a scholarship upon matriculation. UHC Scholarship recipients were selected following a review of applications by the UHC Faculty Advisory Board. More details on the program are available on the UHC website, this Pitt News article covering launch of the initiative in 2014 and this January 2015 Pitt News article describing the evolution of the program.