header image

UHC Awards 45 Scholarships in First Year of New Program

45 students, representing four different schools and 28 areas of study, have been selected as recipients of $2,000 University Honors College (UHC) Scholarships for Academic Year 2013-2014:

Ian Abrahamsen (Chemical Engineering), Loretta Agyemang (Economics, Political Science), Ranem Atia (Anthropology, Linguistics, Psychology), Joshua Barbin (History, Africana Studies), Brandon Barndt (Neuroscience), Theresa Baughman (Studio Arts), Jeffrey Bevan (Chemistry), Anne Bohlander (Marketing), Simon Brown (History, HPS, Philosophy), Pietra Bruni (Film Studies), Sara-Ladd Clark (Classics, Anthropology), Matthew Diamond (Neuroscience, History), Lauren Dubyne (Communication Science), Alexandra Corral Edmonds (Communication), Ari Fish (Psychology), Amanda Ford (Undeclared), Aaron Foglio (Neuroscience), Kristin Free (Rehabilitation Science, Psychology), Isaac Freedman (Physics), Miriam Frisch (Urban Studies), Ketevan Geguchadze (History), Theodore Gobillot (Molecular Biology), Emily Goldberg (Communication Science), Lloyd Harvey (Neuroscience, Italian), Jacob Jerome (Microbiology), Sanford Kinsock (Political Science), Kathleen Koesarie (Neuroscience), Edwin Lin (Neuroscience), Danielle List (Politics & Philosophy), Charles Moon (Neuroscience), Erica Mollenkopf (Social Work, Sociology), Elizabeth Mortenson (Psychology), Abbey O’Brien (History of Art & Architecture), Hetal Patel (Neuroscience, Religious Studies), Rushi Patel (Neuroscience), Sandesh Raj (Bioengineering), Ronald Reha (English Literature, Philosophy), Victoria Schneider (Microbiology, Anthropology), Shea Skinner (Politics & Philosophy), Stephen Sloto (Anthropology, Linguistics), Nathan Smialek (Bioengineering), Katherine Willie (Psychology), Audrey-Marie Winn (Chinese, Philosophy, English Writing), Kaitlin Wise (Japanese, French), Daniyal Zaidi (Politics & Philosophy).

These excellent students submitted strong application materials and met the following eligibility criteria:

  • Junior, senior or fifth-year students who have completed at least two full semesters at Pitt’s Oakland campus.
  • Achievement of at least an overall 3.5 GPA at Pitt.
  • No previous record of receiving merit scholarship support from Pitt’s Office of Admissions and Financial Aid.
  • Strong UHC participation and involvement.

In establishing this new scholarship program, the UHC aims to provide support to high achieving students whose excellent work was not predicted by high school performance, to transfer students, and to students who applied too late to be considered for a scholarship upon matriculation. UHC Scholarship recipients were selected in this first year of the program following a review of applications by the UHC Faculty Advisory Board, and we hope that number will increase steadily in the coming years as student interest in the UHC grows and the scholarship program attracts additional financial support. More details on the UHC Scholarship Program are available on the UHC website and in this January 22, 2014 Pitt News article covering launch of the initiative.